Running into a New Year

no miracles

There is nothing like running every day to make a month vanish, and let’s face it December is one of those crazy times when there is so much going on it seems to go from 1st-31st in the blink of an eye.

Christmas is over and we are now in the ‘in between’ days, pausing before the next celebration and the last hurrah and farewell to another year.

In these in between days we are making a short trip to Inverness, so I will be adding a run in the Highlands to my December adventure.

This year I am feeling good after 26 days of continuous running,  I am only running 3 miles most days and I have been better at stretching after runs –  as last year after December I did pick up an injury that kept me sidelined for a  couple of months.

running-shoes

And for those who wonder – why do this and why in December? My answer is this –  Oddly – rather than creating more stress in the busy month that is December, the daily task of running somehow forces you to focus on all the tasks you need to do and to just find the time to get them all done.

The downside is that it does require you at times to be quite selfish, at a time of year when demands on you are often increased. I am no elite athlete but running daily has given me a tiny insight into the dedication and single-mindedness required to train and succeed.

And as a wonderful bonus for me – I have lost weight :).  So to be able to enjoy December and all its excesses , keep fit , get fresh air , enjoy the company of friends AND lose 6 lbs, what’s not to like ?

farm track

Day 27

We were travelling to Inverness on Thursday and Alison was back at work so I ran alone before we set off. As ever the weather was grey, wet and blowy. I thought for a change of route I would run towards the Dell following the higher path that passes the farm, and then drop down to the Dell. I was listening to a playlist that my younger daughter made for me a while back, and I really needed the mix of Jay Z, Kanye West and Regina Spektor  to keep me moving through the wind and rain.

With a neat touch ELO Mr Blue Sky came on just as I neared the end of the run with rain dripping off my nose.

Lake Garda

Lake Garda

Note : I included this picture taken in the summer at Lake Garda to remind me of blue skies !

Dec 27 3.41 miles Total miles 92.18

I have lived in Edinburgh longer than anywhere else, but I grew up in the Highlands and was looking forward to running in Inverness as a change of scene. My niece Laura had said she would join me – we have both signed up to do the Inverness Half marathon in March.

Inverness

Inverness

After much discussion we decided to opt for  a run starting at her house – which is at the top of a hill ( I sense a recurring theme ). We set off and it was quite mild if a bit on the windy side. Despite our best intentions we could not avoid the uphill on the return journey, or in fact what seemed like several uphills. Just as well we had each other for motivation.

So a lung busting 3 Highland miles with grand views

Day 28 3.04 miles Total miles 95.22

We were travelling back from Inverness at the time I would normally run with Alison in the Dell, so again I needed to find time to run in the afternoon. Although I always feel better after a run- it can be hard to motivate yourself to go out sometimes, especially if you are running without a companion.

But I am 3 days away from completing this December challenge – so short of breaking my leg or similar disaster I am determined to keep on running. By this stage the end is very much in sight and although the dreary December weather shows no sign of improving, as I am still on holiday it is good to be able to run in daylight.

I do seem to moan about the weather a lot- but although I am hardly a fair weather runner, rain, rain and more rain does get a bit tedious, not to mention the constant washing of running kit, muddy, smelly shoes and socks that will never be white again.

Trusty shoes

Trusty shoes

With perfect timing rain started half way through the run and blue skies appeared as I finished! Still, I  believe web feet are an attractive feature in women of a certain age 🙂

Day 29  4.02 miles Total miles 99.24

Sunday we ran in the Dell – was very cold and windy so was good to have the company and distraction of Lil and Alison. Spent some time discussing plans for Hogmanay but conversation was snatched between gusty wind !

But today saw me reach the 100 mile mark – Hurray !! so only one more day to go to reach the end of the challenge and another year.

fish tin

Day 30 3.03 miles Total miles 102.27 

Last year when Alison and I took part in this Marcothon challenge, December 31 was a Parkrun day and we did the Edinburgh parkrun as our final run. This year Alison and I are both working so will have to make our own celebration.

We have decided to run after work, and Lil is going to join us.

As it is an after work run – we will be running our winter street route – the ‘triangle’ – not the most scenic of runs , but better to have company on a run especially as we have both got this far.

Edinburgh skyline

Edinburgh skyline

As we are running after work and Alison has had quite a challenging day it is well after 5pm before we set off. Hogmanay in Edinburgh- the local traffic is light so we don’t have the usual thrum of cars to contend with. In fact after a spell of wet, windy weather this evening is a beautiful starry night- cool crisp air and skies filled with sparkling stars.

The change in the weather, good company and a sense of stillness and completion made this run quite magical.

Day 31 3.15 miles Total 105.42 

Happy New Year !!

Lil, Alison, me

Lil, Alison, me

About marob23

Lover of the great outdoors - when not working enjoys taking pictures, running, procrastinating, occasionally baking and spending time with chums. Empty nester.Lives in Edinburgh with football loving husband and occasional visiting grown-up daughters. Often on a train.
This entry was posted in December running, Friends, Inverness, Marcothon, Places to visit, running, Uncategorized, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment